St. Patrick's Catholic Primary School

Your new design will be uploaded in:
Please contact Delivery Team on
0113 3200 750 if you have any queries.

Todholes Road, Cleator Moor, Cumbria, CA25 5DG

01946 810 513

St. Patrick's Catholic Primary School

Together we are growing in God's love

EYFS - Areas Of Learning And Development

There are 7 areas of learning and development within an EYFS classroom.

The 3 Prime areas of learning are:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional development

The 4 Specific Areas of learning are:

  • Literacy
  • Maths
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

All areas of the curriculum play a vital role and are all equally important. The areas are all interlinked and taught together.

In our Reception Unit we teach your child through play. Play is the main method in which a child learns in the early years. As children play they are developing cognitive, socio-emotional and physical skills they need to become a successful adult. Our play based approach allows children to learn through their own interests in an engaging and motivating way.